Studying Tips

This week is a big week for tests. My school is taking the I-Step yuck! If you don’t know, I-Step is Indiana’s state standardized test. I am not a good test taker at all, but here are a few tips that help me when studying.

Organization

Organization is key when you’re studying. I really love to organize, so naturally my notes and study tools are organized. (for the most part!) I’m that person who will rewrite their whole notes if there is one thing wrong with them. Sometimes this is a blessing and a curse!

Writing

This may not help you, but writing out my notes really helps me. Writing is one of the most effective ways to studying, especially if the test is written. Writing is also fun, because you can make it however you want. I usually color coat haha!

 

Gum

Some people may not like chewing gum, but personally I couldn’t get through life without it. My school doesn’t allow chewing gum, but during a test I chew the same flavor that I did when I studied. This helps me remember the information that I studied the night before.

Music

Listening to music while studying can be very distracting. I don’t always listen to it while I’m studying, but when I do, I try to play over the song in my head when I’m taking my test. This kind of does the same thing as chewing gum, but this way I don’t have to break the rules!

Relaxation

I’m a worrier. I stress over tests, because I always want to do better. I guess this is a good thing, but sometimes its hard to stay relaxed. It’s sometimes hard to tell if you’re relaxed or lazy. Sometimes I’m lazy, but when I study, I try to keep myself just relaxed. Being relaxed but also focused is something that will definitely help you to study. I really need to work on this though.

I hope you enjoyed this post, and let me know if you have any other tips I would LOVE to hear them!

xoxo

Leave a Reply

